Why does ice float on water?

I am currently studying about the topic water and am a bit confused about the properties of water.

Can anyone explain to me y ice floats on water?

I know this gota do with density but i don't understand.
And i need to know this before we move on to more water properties. I do not know much of water properties because i am only a beginner so please don't make the explanation complicated.

I would appreciate it if anyone helps,
Thank you.

Tags:

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Well, ask yourself - what else floats on water...??

Apples!
Gravy!
Very Small Rocks!
Churches!
.......and - a *DUCK*!!!

Therefore, logically,
water must be made out of wood.
And, if it weighs the same as a duck, then..........

BURRRRRRRN IT!!!!!!

Having found this holy grail,
let us get back to the density
things which are less dense float on top of things which are more dense.

Thus, the planet Saturn would float in your bath (if it was big enough) because Saturn is less dense than bathwater.
And in just the same way, ice tends to float on top of water. Because ice is less dense than water.

What being 'less dense' actually means is that the molecules in ice are
further apart than the molecules in water.

This is unusual, as normally, molecules in a solid are closer together than in the liquid.

However, in ice, the crystal structure is unusually openly spaced, due to...... HYDROGEN BONDING.

Hurrah!

Ohhhhh thx
I got the density part.

Now can u explain hydrogen bonding? plz

well, "hyrogren bonding" is a special type of INTER-MOLECULAR bonding.
(that is, a bonding that takes places *between* separate molecules,
not inside them).

As you probably know, a hydrogen atom is very very small,
and consists of only 1 proton and 1 electron.