Basic question on ionic compounds.

I am studying chemistry for the first time, without any sort of tutelage. My main source of knowledge is an anatomy and physiology textbook (Only one chapter is made up of pure chemistry).

So far, the book has covered chemical bonds, the atoms and molecules found in the body, the make up of an atom, and other fairly basic information. I tend to be fairly pedantic so I've been unable to proceed with my reading of the text because I can't quite rationalise ionic compounds.

For example, I can't understand

"HCl + KOH --> H+ + Cl- + K+ + OH- --> KCl + H20(WATER)"

^That is in relation to acids, bases and salts, as I guess is obvious. The book tells of how acids are comprised of dissociated H+ and another anion. However, I'm simply unaware of how a cation is created. Also, how compounds (HCO3- [bicarbonate ion] for example) are formed.

I hope this makes sense, and thanks for replying to such a fairly basic question in advance.

Tags:

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

I would suggest investing in