ION Values

I am a first year chemistry student attempting to prepare myself for the class 2 months early on my own, so please forgive my basic question...

I am attempting to find a chart that will tell me all the ion charges of each element so I can be able to balance them easier when it come to problems....maybe I am not figuring this out right but I am using prof Zumdahl's text on Chemistry and throughout Chapter 2 he gives us the value of various elements and has us figure out the other value....I want to know how does one know the ionic value of each element

Thanks
Dennis

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Yes there is a chart and it

Yes there is a chart and it is called the "periodic table"!!
Many chemists find it very very useful :)

Not all elements do form "ionic" compounds anyways.

For metals which do, the charge on their +ve cation is usually the same as their group number
eg:
Group I alkali metals, like sodium, form +1 ions
Group II alkaline earth metals, like magnesium, form +2 ions
Group III (13) like aluminium, for +3 ions

For non-metals, on the right of the table, the -ve charge on their anion is usually (8 - their group number) (or 18 - their group number, if you count that way)

eg:
Group VII halogens, like fluorine, form -1 ions
Group VI chalcogens, like oxygen, form -2 ions.

The only tricky ones to work out at the d block transition metals in the middle, cos they can have variable oxidation states...
(eg copper can be +1 or +2 , iron can be +2 or +3, ... )
so it's probably easiest just to try and learn them.

http//www.feline1.co.uk

Thank you...obviously I am